How the Bad Stuff is Still a Part of His Good Plan: Good Friday Edition

Lately I’ve been pondering how bad things can be a part of God’s plan.

Have you ever thought about that before?

It’s easy to go there.  You see horrible things happening all the time.  Why not question God?

Particularly, I’ve been honing in on Judas, Jesus’ betrayer.  There are some pretty messed up things that led to Jesus’ death including an unfair trail, incorrect verdict, unjust flogging…shall I go on?  But I’ve been stuck on Judas of all things.

In the past, I’ve felt bad for the guy.  Scripture makes it pretty clear he was not a believer.  When he died he went to hell.  Not heaven.  I guess the sinful side of me has felt like that was unfair.  Why did Judas go to hell because he betrayed Jesus?  God ordained it; God used Judas to help send Jesus to His death, ultimately leading to salvation for all of mankind.  So why is Judas punished and sent to hell?

Not so fast Kristin.

First things first, Judas went to hell because he was not a believer, not because he betrayed Jesus. Scripture tells us there is only one way to heaven:

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. Romans 10:9

Jesus was not Judas’ Lord.   Judas was distraught over his sin.  Yet, it did not lead him to seek God’s forgiveness.  That’s the big difference.  He was banished to hell because he chose not to acknowledge Jesus’ deity.

Tomorrow is Good Friday.  The day Jesus died on the cross.  It’s a time to ponder the horrific things done to Jesus and how He suffered for our sake.  It’s a bad day by all intents and purposes.

Yet, what greatness was brought from that day.  What celebration came out of such darkness.  Three days later, Jesus rose from the dead.  He overcame sin, making a way for you and me to overcome our sin as well.  Judas betraying Jesus, yeah it was bad stuff.  Good Friday, yeah it was pretty bad too.   But it was still a part of God’s good plan.

Screenshot 2016-03-24 14.24.57

There’s no sin that makes you too far from God’s ability to save you.  Not even turning him  over to be crucified.

Nothing.

Seriously.

The only sin that is unforgivable is blaspheming the Holy Spirit…meaning you reject Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior.  Everything else is covered!

Every single sin is covered by Jesus’ blood.

His grace wins every time.  Every. Single. Time.

You will have bad days.  You will blow it.

I’ve totally blown it.  Many times.  Here’s one of my lesser moments:

My first year teaching I was a part of a group called Mentor Mavs.  (Our mascot was the Maverick)  Each newbie was paired with a wiser, well seasoned teacher, who gave us wisdom and advice as we ventured the open waters of teaching.  It was the last meeting of the year and we were celebrating our victory…we had made it all the way to the end of the school year without losing our sanity or our jobs!  As much as I wanted to celebrate, I also wanted to get back to my classroom and start crossing things off my to-do list.  Clean my classroom.  Pack books.  Put away my desk.  Turn in equipment.

Our lead mentor asked if there was anything we wanted to say.  We were welcome to comment on anything.  And what did I do?  I said,”If I can be completely honest, I’d really like to get back to my classroom and get some things done.”

Silence.

The whole room stopped.  Everybody froze.  As the words exited my mouth I wanted to clutch them from the still frozen air and shove them right back where they came from.

I single-handedly devalued the lead mentor’s hard work while defacing myself as a Christian.  Now what?  How do I apologize for such self-centeredness?  Would my coworkers even consider Christianity again?  Would I ever get another chance to witness to them or had I forever ruined it?

Ugh.  Epic Fail.

But you know what?  It was covered.  God’s grace still won over my sin.

I confessed my sin to Him.  I apologized to the lead mentor and to the entire classroom full of teachers.

I wish I had some some amazing happy ending to this story; I still have no idea how my sin affected them for God’s kingdom.   But, I know my sin is not too big for God to cover.  Nor was my mistake something God can’t work around.

Screenshot 2016-03-24 14.45.48

When you think God can’t make right what you’ve made wrong, think again.  If He can do it with Jesus’ death, He can do it with you too.  There’s nothing too bad that Jesus’ blood can’t cover.

Do you believe in Jesus as your Lord and Savior?  Choose this Easter to see His resurrection with new eyes.

Love to you all and Happy Easter!

~Kristin

Cross photo by Andy Melton.  See license here.

 

Leave a Reply

