While You Were Waiting Part 1: 4 Lessons from God’s Waiting Room

It’s hard waiting.

We I don’t like waiting in line at the grocery store. We I don’t like waiting for the microwave. We I don’t like waiting for my webpage to download.  Shoot, I even open a second and third page while I’m waiting for the first page to open!

But what about having to wait for God?  Phew, that’s a tough one.

It’s even tougher trying to wait for God the right way, without making a big mess.

Me?

I’m failing miserably.  Maybe failing is a strong word, but it feels accurate.  How ’bout, I’m struggling immensely?  Yeah, that’s better.

You see, I am a doer.  I’m also a type A.  Put those two together and you’ve got one driven individual who likes to make things happen.  I don’t sit still well.  I mean, I can sit in a chair well.  But I’m not the stay-at-home-all-the-time-without-something-to-do kind of gal.  Totally cool if you are that gal.  Those gals are definitely needed.  But that’s not me.

As God works gently with this type A, goal driven girl, He’s teaching her some life lessons along the way.  I’d like to share them with you.  Care to come along?  Grab a cup of coffee and sit for a while?  I dare say you are probably in God’s waiting room yourself.


In Exodus, we read about the Israelites waiting for Moses to come back from his mountain top experience with God.

After a few days, the Israelites wonder about Moses.

After ten days, they worry.

After twenty days, they question Moses and his God.

After thirty days, they forget God.

After forty days, they make gods from their own hands.

(This is my spin on what really went down…this is totally NOT in the Bible in case you go looking for it.)

Exodus 32:1-5

When the people saw that Moses delayed to come down from the mountain, the people gathered themselves together to Aaron and said to him, “Up, make us gods who shall go before us. As for this Moses, the man who brought us up out of the land of Egypt, we do not know what has become of him.”  So Aaron said to them, “Take off the rings of gold that are in the ears of your wives, your sons, and your daughters, and bring them to me.”  So all the people took off the rings of gold that were in their ears and brought them to Aaron.  And he received the gold from their hand and fashioned it with a graving tool and made a golden calf. And they said, “These are your gods, O Israel, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt!”

God is not happy with this development.  He actually wants to destroy this development along with all the Israelites.  But He doesn’t.  He doesn’t because He is gracious and merciful and chooses to allow our prayers and pleas to work into his plan.

But this is still scary to me.  Not because God could have wiped out all of His chosen people.  It’s scary because it didn’t take the Israelites that long to walk away from their God and create gods from their own hands, all because they couldn’t wait for Moses to come back down the mountain.

  • How often, and how quickly, do I walk out of God’s waiting room?
  • How often do I tell God how it should be done, that this waiting period is too long, too hard, too wrong for me?
  • How often do I make my own way, like the Israelites, because I can’t seem to wait any longer for God?

I even go as far to think that I would never make an idol to worship instead of God.  But isn’t that what I’m doing when I place my will in front of his, pushing myself out of the waiting room?  Isn’t that pride?  I’m saying my way is better than his and anything you place in front of God, or make a higher priority than God,

is

idol

worship.

Well that’s a tough pill to swallow.  Kinda serious when you think about it like that.

Oh, that we won’t push ourselves out of the waiting room, only to make false gods that can’t help us anyway.

 

Lesson 1: Our futile attempts to leave the waiting room early only leave us with worthless idols.

 

So you say, that’s awesome Kristin; you’ve shown me the sin that can take place from leaving God’s waiting room too early, but how do I wait in the waiting room?

That’s what’s coming next.

In the mean time, are you in God’s waiting room?  Have you created any false gods?  Where do you need to let go of your own agenda, your own gods, and let God rule instead?

Oh Father, show us how to stay in your waiting room.  It’s so hard to know how to live and move and breathe while we are sitting still in your waiting room.  Teach us and instruct us in the way we should go; counsel us and watch over us. 

While You Were Waiting Part 2

While You Were Waiting Part 3

4 thoughts on “While You Were Waiting Part 1: 4 Lessons from God’s Waiting Room

Leave a Reply

