New Year, New Prayer

I am not one for New Year’s Resolutions.  Never have been.  They’re kinda something you do because everyone else is doing it, yet they’re something no one actually does because no one sticks to it.

Anyone else baffled?

Prayer.  That’s something I do, and I’m working on doing it better.  Not a New Year’s Resolution do it better, but a real, every day, trying to do it better.  Or, as Yoda would say if he were a believer: Pray better or do not pray better; there is no try. (Insert really cool photo of Yoda here…I was too afraid of copyright infringements to post his mugshot!)

Back to reality:)

With this in mind, I’ve chosen to take a passage and make it mine for 2016.  Make it my lifesong, make it my prayer.  Here’s why:

1.) This passage keeps me focused on what’s important

–>God’s character, not my circumstances

–>God’s promises

2.) Infusing prayer with scripture is a very powerful tool, conforming me to the likeness of Christ AND dethroning the lies of the enemy I have believed far too long.

Sound like something you need?  Infusing prayer with scripture? Becoming more like Christ?  Dethroning lies with God’s word?

Psalm 145  (It’s a long read but stick with me, ok?  It’s so worth it.)

I will exalt you, my God the King;
    I will praise your name for ever and ever.
Every day I will praise you
    and extol your name for ever and ever.

Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise;
    his greatness no one can fathom.
One generation commends your works to another;
    they tell of your mighty acts.
They speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty—
    and I will meditate on your wonderful works.
They tell of the power of your awesome works—
    and I will proclaim your great deeds.
They celebrate your abundant goodness
    and joyfully sing of your righteousness.

The Lord is gracious and compassionate,
    slow to anger and rich in love.

The Lord is good to all;
    he has compassion on all he has made.
10 All your works praise you, Lord;
    your faithful people extol you.
11 They tell of the glory of your kingdom
    and speak of your might,
12 so that all people may know of your mighty acts
    and the glorious splendor of your kingdom.
13 Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom,
    and your dominion endures through all generations.

The Lord is trustworthy in all he promises
    and faithful in all he does.
14 The Lord upholds all who fall
    and lifts up all who are bowed down.
15 The eyes of all look to you,
    and you give them their food at the proper time.
16 You open your hand
    and satisfy the desires of every living thing.

17 The Lord is righteous in all his ways
    and faithful in all he does.
18 The Lord is near to all who call on him,
    to all who call on him in truth.
19 He fulfills the desires of those who fear him;
    he hears their cry and saves them.
20 The Lord watches over all who love him,
    but all the wicked he will destroy.

21 My mouth will speak in praise of the Lord.
    Let every creature praise his holy name
    for ever and ever.

I love this Psalm because it begins and ends with praise, something I need to do more often, and it focuses on God’s greatness and character, all the while saying key things I need to be reminded of.

It reminds me that God is trustworthy in all his promises.

It reminds me that God gives food at the proper time to those who look to him.

It reminds me that God hears our cries and saves us, watches over us, is near to all who call on him in truth.

It reminds me that God fulfills our desires and opens his hand to satisfy the desires of every living thing.

God doesn’t fulfill all our desires, looking at verses 16 and 19.  That is neither accurate nor biblical.  Reading scripture in context of other scripture is crucial.   The caveat here is that we must be in line with God’s will for him to satisfy our desires.  How do we do that?  Go back and re-read it; the psalmist tells us.  Praise him, meditate on his wonderful works, tell others of the glory of his kingdom and his might, fear him.  The psalmist says, “every day I will praise you.” (Emphasis added)

When we make this our attitude, our second by second life-breath, God changes the desires of our hearts to be the desires of His heart, and THIS is the place we need to be.

THIS is the place I need to be right now.  To be in a place where His desires are my desires.  And you?  Care to join me?

Download my Psalm 145 Scripture Cards. Place them all over your house, your car, your work place, your work out place…and read them daily.  Memorize them.  Pray them.

Not the scripture for you this year?  Download the Blank Scripture Cards and write your own.

Make this the year to stand on the promises of God.   For our Lord “is trustworthy in all he promises and faithful in all he does.”

 

Sparkler photo by Giuliamar

 

One thought on “New Year, New Prayer

Leave a Reply

