Standing Firm: Planned Parenthood Edition

Disclaimer: If you are reading this and you’ve had an abortion, welcome sweet friend.  My desire is that you now have a place to be encouraged, rejuvenated, and to receive the love of Christ through me and these words.  The following entry is based on scripture from God’s word.  And God’s word hurts sometimes.  It hurts because it points out the mistakes we’ve made and shows us the error of our ways.  I don’t like to change those ways…that’s were the hurting usually starts, when the Holy Spirit convicts me.  I say this so you know I am not out to add to your heavy heart.  Please know there is hope for your heaviness.  God loves us even in our mistakes. If you’re in the San Antonio area, please visit this link if you’re interested in a confidential, safe place to let go of your heavy heart.

 

My heart is saddened by yet another shooting, this time at Planned Parenthood(PP), but not for the typical reasons you may think.  I am saddened for the officer who gave his life, the two civilians who were killed, as well as the other victims wounded physically.

But I’m also saddened for those wounded spiritually.  Satan is at war and he is using this to actively turn people against each other and against a God who so desires to draw people to himself.

How? {Stick with me for just a minute as this gets kinda hairy}

Well, when someone shoots up PP, it’s fairly safe to say they are against PP, which means they are against abortion.  Abortion is defined as murder to pro-life individuals.  Thus, pro-lifers see PP as a place in which murder takes place.

A pro-choice individual, on the other hand, sees this shooting and believes it all too ironic that someone against abortion, would choose murder as a means to fight for life.

 

So, how does the murder of one justify another?

 

This is where those against abortion lose any case of credibility with those for abortion. Committing one act of murder doesn’t give license to commit another act of murder. Period.

 

But, did you know?

You can be

for Jesus,

prolife,

and against murder at the same time.

 

In order to do this you’ve got to know the Word so you can stand on it.

Psalm 139: 13-18 says

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.

Therefore, God knew each one of us BEFORE we had a body.  He ordained our days while we were a but a twinkle in our parents’ eyes, he created us in our mother’s womb, and he thought great things about us before we were even born.

The truth of God is simple.  Life begins at conception.  Life doesn’t begin when a baby is born or when we humans deem a fetus living.  We aren’t the creator of life so why do we get a say?

Believers in Jesus Christ know this truth.

Another truth: believers are not to continue in sin, i.e. murder, just because God is loving and forgives our sin.

What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase?

It’s hard to stand for truth in the midst of a shooting like this because pro-life individuals are labeled hypocrites.  But know this, God calls us to still speak truth even when others don’t want to hear it and even when we are chastised for it.

Others won’t believe truth. Others will cut you down for that truth.  Whether or not others believe that truth is irrelevant.

 

Truth is still truth regardless of one’s beliefs.

 

Isaiah 51:7-8 says

Hear me, you who know what is right,
    you people who have taken my instruction to heart:
Do not fear the reproach of mere mortals
    or be terrified by their insults.
For the moth will eat them up like a garment;
    the worm will devour them like wool.
But my righteousness will last forever,
    my salvation through all generations.

Those insults will fade away.  Christ’s kingdom and righteousness will remain.  Jesus will stand the test of time.  That’s what we need to stand for, with the things that last forever. With Truth.

At the same time, pray for the victims’ families, the physically wounded, and anyone who’s heart has been spiritually wounded or womb has known a secret past.

In Isaiah 52:7, we are to bring Good News

to the lost,

to the hurting,

to the hurting one with an abortion in her past.

Grant peace, good tidings, and grace to them.

This, my friend, is how we foil Satan’s plan.

Father give us courage to stand for truth, eyes to see the hurting, and discernment to know how to speak truth while loving the lost.

 

photo credit: Tatiana Vdb View license here.

 

2 thoughts on “Standing Firm: Planned Parenthood Edition

Leave a Reply

